The Pikes Peak Branch of the National League
of American Pen Women was chartered in 1955

The Pikes Peak Branch of NLAPW was organized in November 1954 by charter members Myrtle Chance Allen, Evelyn Reese Chase, Rae B. Cross, Nell Womack Evans, Bertha O. Klug, Sylvia Pezoldt, Rosalee Porter, and Elizabeth Shafer. 

Within our branch, we offer workshops, seminars, and contests. Members share market tips and news, techniques and helpful criticisms. We sustain one another through solid and lasting friendships. Members have sold their books, fiction, nonfiction, music and verse to a variety of national publications. Members work in advertising and public relations, create commercial and fine art, and hold one-woman juried shows.

Pikes Peakers have garnered literally hundreds of awards. At least twice members have won more honors in the National League’s prestigious Biennial Contests than any other Branch in the country. Individual writers, musicians and artists have won State, Regional, National and International awards for their work. Many are listed in  Dictionary of International Biography, International Who’s Who in Poetry, 2,000 Women of Achievement, Who’s Who in the West, Who’s Who in American Women, and Outstanding Young Women of America, to mention a few publications.

Throughout the years, the Branch has sponsored writers’ conferences, hosted art shows, juried poetry contests, and events to encourage and support young women in the arts. Our vision is to continue to support all Branch members and further seek ways to put the National League of American Pen Women Inc. into the public eye.


President | Nancy Godbout Jurka 

Vice-President | Linda Bridges

Secretary | Sara Rickman

Treasurer | Brenda Speer

Flash Fiction Contest Chair | Cindi Carroll