When Did It Happen?

Pikes Peak Branch, National League of American Pen Women, was organized in November 1954, with six Charter Members. These Charter Members were Myrtle Chance Allen, Evelyn Reese Chase, Rae B. Cross, Nell Womack Evans, Bertha O. Klug, Sylvia Pezoldt, Roslee Porter, and Elizabeth Shafer. The Group’s Charter was granted on March 12, 1955.

What Are We All About?

Throughout the years, this organization of professional creative writers, artists and musicians has grown to a membership between 25 and 35. The NLAPW motto, “One for all and all for one”, is no mere cliché with Pikes Peak Branch members, who share each other’s interests, problems, sales, and triumphs.

This is done on a Branch basis, in smaller workshops, and on a one-to-one basis, with members sharing market tips and news, techniques and helpful criticisms, and sustaining one another through solid and lasting relationships.

Arts, Letters, Music

Our members are active professional women writers, musicians and artists–in diverse medias; all selling their books, fiction and nonfiction; music, verse and mixed artistic medias to a great variety of national publications. Members are involved in editing, reporting, lecturing, performing, researching, taking photographs, working in advertising and public relations, creating commercial and fine art, holding one-woman juried shows, selling their paintings and sculptures around the country.

Among our members, we have won awards in state, regional, national and international awards for their work in art, music and writing. Many have been listed in several Who’s Who: e.g., Directory of International Biography, International Who’s Who in Poetry, 2,000 Women of Achievements, Who’s Who in the West, Who’s Who in American Women, and Outstanding Young Women of America, to mention a few.

The Branch has also sponsored writers ‘conferences, hosted art shows, juried art and poetry contests, events to encourage and support young women in the arts and other opportunities such as the annual Member Art Show. Currently, the Pikes Peak Branch sponsors three outreach programs locally-The Poetry in the Schools Project, Musical Instruments in the Schools and their annual elementary school ‘Bucks for Books Drive’ in collaboration with the local chapter of DAR. The Flash Fiction Contest brings the Branch recognition nationally and internationally annually. Their vision continues to provide support to all Branch members, and further seek ways to put the National League of American Pen Women in the public eye.

When Do We Meet?

Currently, the members and friends of Pikes Peak Pen Women meet for lunch and a program the second Saturday of each month, from 11:00–1:30. Traditionally, in earlier years, a new member received a bracelet and an insignia charm. The expense and the demise of the popularity of the dangle bracelet has allowed that tradition to die. The Owl Award is now given each month during our program to an outstanding member in recognition of her service to the Branch. Another fun aspect we look forward to at every luncheon is  a raffle/sale of beautiful, seasonal table decoration, hand made by our members–and all proceeds for these go to our ‘Bucks for Books Drive’.

Can I Be a Part of Pikes Peak Pen Women?

The Pikes Peak Branch welcomes visitors and friends who are looking for an organization where they can grow in their professionalism, learn from other creatives, and share the excitement of reaching out into our local community to encourage children and women to develop their creative talents. If you are curious, please look at our Events Calendar and see when our next meeting will be held. We look forward to meeting you. If you are considering joining, please check out our Membership Tab in this website. Also visit our Facebook page to see what we have been up to among our members. https://www.facebook.com/pg/PPPenWomen/post

Executive Leadership

Vice-President | Linda Bridges

Secretary | Sara Byrn Rickman

Treasurer | Linda Bridges

Flash Fiction Contest Chair | Cindi Carroll

Art Chair | Rosie Eylens

Music Chair| Virginia Campbell